Google Allo brings ‘Selfie clips’ and admin controls in group chats

With the latest update for Google Allo, you can grant yourself special admin powers when creating a group chat. Not only that, Google has added a Snapchat-like hold-and-release video-messaging feature.

Editor's Pick

The new update introduces a number of administrator privileges when creating group chats. Now you can enable “Group chat controls” which gives you the power to not only edit the group name and photo but also to permanently ban members. Conversations can have multiple admins although as 9to5Google points out, it looks like you can’t enable these controls in existing groups.

In addition to admin controls, the latest version of Google Allo incorporates a Snapchat-like video-messaging feature. Now, you can send “Selfie clips” by pressing and holding down on the shutter button inside the circular camera window.

The Allo update just started rolling out, so it may take a few days for it to reach your device. Let us know what do you think of this new feature in the comments!


Previous updates

You can now react to individual messages in Google Allo

July 17: Google is borrowing a feature that’s been around for a while in Facebook Messenger: in Google Allo, you can now “react” to individual messages with a simple tap. Along with this, the latest update brings under-the-hood enhancements like the ability zoom and blur messages.

Start Duo audio/video call right from your Allo chat

June 19: Google’s Amit Fulay has announced that the latest update to Google Allo allows you to start a Duo audio or video call from within the Allo app.

Selfie clips

May 31: Google Allo added support for Selfie Clips, which makes it easy to create a GIF and immediately send it to your Allo contacts. All you have to do is hit the “+” button within a conversation, select “GIF” and start recording.

Incognito mode, chat backup and more

May 3: Google’s Amit Fulay has revealed some new features coming to Google Allo via Twitter. Fulay showed off an image of what the incognito mode for group chats looks like and, as with the standard incognito mode, the group version allows the user to set the time for when the chats will expire.

Chats can also now be backed up in Allo with the latest version, either on the smartphone’s local storage or via Google Drive. Users can backup and restore texts, as well as any image or video that was used in chats. Additionally, the latest Allo update adds a link preview to any URLs that are put in chats, which will allow you to see what the link is all about before you decide to click on it.