How to Delete Your Galaxy Note 8 Browser History

By | 28th November 2017

How to Delete Your Galaxy Note 8 Browser History is a post by Cory Gunther from Gotta Be Mobile.

In this guide we’ll show you how to quickly delete your Galaxy Note 8 browser history. Whether you’re trying to get rid of recent internet activity or want to hide proof of any holiday or birthday purchases, here’s how.

Our smartphones have a lot of security measures in place, but this is one more step to keep your information safe. We’ll go over deleting your internet activity, clearing the cache, cookies, form data, and even auto-fill for passwords.

Read: 15 Common Galaxy Note 8 Problems & How to Fix Them

Unless you browse with a private browser, almost every Google search or website you visit gets saved and remembered. And while that’s fine most of the time, some will want the added privacy of getting rid of any trace. We all have our reasons, and here’s how to get started.

Before we begin it’s worth noting that a lot of Android smartphones have more than one browser. With the Galaxy Note 8, you have Samsung’s “Internet” app, or you might use Google Chrome. We’ll cover both of them in our instructions below.

How to Delete Your Galaxy Note 8 Browser History

A lot of Android users probably download Google Chrome when they first get a device. However, millions of Samsung Galaxy owners use Samsung’s Internet app. We’ll start with clearing your browser history on that, then continue reading for Google Chrome.

Instructions

  • Open Samsung’s Internet web browser application
  • Tap the 3-dots menu button near the top right
  • Click on Settings
  • Scroll down and select Privacy

  • In the Privacy section tap on Delete personal data
  • Choose what you want to delete from the pop-up of saved information
  • Select all that apply, and hit the big Delete button

By default, Samsung’s internet app will instantly delete your entire web browsing history, cache, cookies and site data. This will not erase any login information for Amazon or Netflix and other sites you visit, and it will not delete your passwords.

If you’d like to clear those too, simply select them from the pop-up above, then hit the Delete button once more. Keep in mind that this clears everything. Every site you visit, your login information for those sites, and everything. Now, login details and passwords are gone until you put them in again, and let the browser save them. If you don’t want to lose form data and passwords, leave those unchecked.

Clear Browsing History on Google Chrome

Next, we’ll explain the same process for the Google Chrome Browser. It’s worth mentioning that Google gives users far more control over the browsing history, including what you do or don’t delete. You can clear your history for one hour, 24 hours, or until the end of time. That way it doesn’t look like you’re trying to hide something or remove your history.

Instructions

  • Open the Google Chrome Browser
  • Tap the 3-dots menu button at the top right, and select History
  • Select the trash can to delete browsing history one at a time
  • Or, tap Clear Browsing Data for more options

From here, Google shows the basic items most users will want to delete. Additionally, you can hit Advanced for more control over everything. As you can see in our image, Google lets you choose from 1-hour, all the way to the end of time. Giving you total control over how much information gets deleted.

  • Select how much history you want to delete from the drop-down
  • Tap Clear Data at the bottom of the screen

That’s it, and we’re all done on Google Chrome too. If you didn’t change the length of time, Google only removes the last hour of browsing history. So make sure you chose how far back you want to erase.

We like the options on Google Chrome. More specifically, the ability to delete each result or website visit one at a time, before doing a mass delete per the instructions above. Choose what method works best for you, and that’s it. This way you can delete anything you’d like to get rid of, without making it obvious.

In closing, all browsers have private or “Incognito mode” which doesn’t save your browsing history or anything. Open Google Chrome, and select to open a new Incognito tab to prevent this problem at the beginning.  While you’re here, learn how to change and download fonts on the Galaxy Note 8.

How to Delete Your Galaxy Note 8 Browser History is a post by Cory Gunther from Gotta Be Mobile.