Facebook Adds a Snooze Feature to Temporarily Unfollow a Friend

Have you ever been annoyed by someone posting twenty different photos of the same event on your Facebook feed? Ever had to unfollow a friend because, while you feel obligated to have them added as a friend, you just don’t want to see what they post at that particular time? I’m sure a lot of us have been there. Sadly, people also tend to forget when they unfollow someone on Facebook, but now there’s a solution for that rolling out on the social media platform.

Slowly rolling out globally, a temporary “Snooze” feature is coming soon to Facebook’s news feed. This allows users who may be slightly put off by the things a friend is posting to simply temporarily unfollow the user, rather than permanently unfollowing a friend (and forgetting about it). What’s more, when the snooze time is nearly up, you’ll be notified about it if you wish to extend it. You can also end the snooze period any time you want.

Interestingly, Facebook claim this change is a result of user feedback, based on complaints from users. “We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it”, Facebook say in their announcement post. This also isn’t the first customisation option for news feeds that Facebook has introduced. Users can also hide individual posts, along with adding friends to a “see first” category, meaning you will always see their posts in your news feed above everyone else. Users can also report posts or unfollow friends permanently, resulting in more control over their news feed. If that isn’t enough, browser extensions like FB Purity allow for even more feed customisation, such as hiding posts that use specific words.

You can check out the official press release by following the link below.


Source: Facebook News Room