Google I/O 2018: Watch the keynote live right here

By | 8th May 2018

In just a few hours, Google will give the world a sneak peek of its plans for the year.

Google I/O is more than a developer conference. It’s a place for Google fans and professionals to hang out and interact; it’s a time for the folks working at Google to talk to the community; above else, it’s a celebration of all things Google. And it all starts with the keynote.

At 10AM PST, Google CEO Sundar Pichai will take the stage of the Shoreline Amphitheatre in Mountain View to walk us through Google’s “latest product and platform innovations.” It sounds a little bland, but the official keynote description undersells it. If you’re into Android, AI, and computing in general, you won’t want to miss it.

Where to watch the Google I/O keynote livestream

Every year Google streams the keynote live on its Google Developers YouTube channel. We’ve embedded the live stream video below for your viewing pleasure.

When is the Google I/O 2018 keynote?

Tune in at 10AM Pacific time to watch the Google I/O 2018 keynote address by Sundar Pichai and other Google leaders. Here’s the time of the keynote around the world:

  • San Francisco: 10AM
  • Chicago: 12PM
  • New York: 1PM
  • London: 6PM
  • Berlin: 7PM
  • Moscow: 8PM
  • Mumbai: 10:30PM
  • Beijing: 1AM
  • Sydney: 3AM (May 9)

As a warm-up for the keynote, tune in 40 minutes before the show to watch two AI experiments live: NSynth, a synthesizer that generates new sounds using neural networks and World Draw, a live interactive experience to draw the world together. Fun!

What to expect

We’ve rounded up all the credible rumors and reports about Google I/O 2018 here. Highlights include more details about Android P, new Wear OS devices, Google Assistant, new Android TV and Android Auto developments, and a whole bunch of new features for developers. Google is laser-focused on AI and machine learning these days, so expect company executives to talk a lot about AI and how it will improve our lives.

Google has managed to sidestep the privacy controversies that engulfed Facebook this year, but that doesn’t mean the company is immune to them. Sundar Pichai will have to assuage the public’s privacy fears, without letting developers down. This keynote will be a balancing act.

After the keynote

The developer-focused sessions will kick off just after the 90-minute keynote address and will include a second keynote just for devs. If you’re into development, whether on Android or the web, you will want to watch this technical presentation live on the Android Developers channel.

Google will live stream dozens of other sessions and presentations from Google I/O 2018, so keep it tuned to YouTube.

Android Authority at Google I/O 2018

Gary Sims, David Imel, and Rob Triggs will be on the ground in Mountain View to attend all the key sessions and ask all the key questions.

Android Authority will live-blog the keynote address starting in just a few hours, so watch our Twitter feed if you can’t tune it to the live video. As always, we will do our best to bring you the finest Google I/O coverage around. What announcements are you looking forward to?