Developers only: Google’s hosting an AMA on Android P APIs, Jetpack, Kotlin, Treble, and more

android p smart selection app actions google pixel

Google released the third beta version of Android P (Developer Preview 4) last week. It brought new animations, icons, and many little changes to the overall user interface. Android P’s engineering team has decided to host an AMA (Ask Me Anything) on Reddit next week. This AMA is only for developers and technical questions. General inquiry questions will not be answered. Here are the topics the team hopes to talk about:

  • Android Jetpack
  • Kotlin
  • Notifications
  • Power – app standby, app restrictions
  • Display cutout
  • Actions and Slices
  • Compatibility and non-SDK interface restrictions
  • Android P Beta devices, Project Treble

This is not the first time they’ve hosted an AMA on Reddit. They did the same two years ago with the release of Android Nougat, and the same last year for Android Oreo. We’ll be sure to cover every new detail this AMA brings. The team will start answering questions on Thursday, July 19 at 12:00 PM PST / 3:00 PM EST (UTC 1900) and will last until 1:20 PM PST / 4:20 PM EST. You can already ask the questions in AndroidDev subreddit right now. If someone has already asked your question, be sure to upvote it.

Reddit AMA on /r/androiddev

You may also like...